My internship so far - Reisverslag uit Leeds, Verenigd Koninkrijk van han maas - WaarBenJij.nu My internship so far - Reisverslag uit Leeds, Verenigd Koninkrijk van han maas - WaarBenJij.nu

My internship so far

Door: Han Maas

Blijf op de hoogte en volg han

05 Mei 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Leeds

Nils has to do a big project for his study in which he examines the corporation between the 5 mains muscles in the upper leg and what effect the angle of the hip has on the strength of these muscles. For this investigation he has to do some tests to see exactly how the muscles work together and how the angle of the hip effects the amount of strength the muscles can generate. In some tests I could be his testing person to see if it all works properly and if his speculations were correct. Nils can't use these results in his final report because I am still under age. I find it a pretty cool experience to have all these muscle strength tests done on me! Nils put 5 sensors, which were connected to a computer so the results were to see on the screen when there was any activity in these muscles, on my leg on the places of the 5 muscles he wanted to examine.
I had to sit in a special chair in which I got completely tied up so I wouldn't be able to generate power with my upper body, because that is not what Nils is looking to examine. My right leg, the most powerful one so the results are the clearest, got tied up in a frame which could measure my strength. There was a screen in front of me which told me what to do with my leg, for example: my leg was set in a certain position and then I had to push my leg forward or backward as hard as I could and then Nils got all the information on his screen from the sensors. There were about 9 different movements I had to perform with my leg and we had to do all 9 movements in 3 different hip angles so Nils could compare the results.
It took pretty long to get ready and do all the tests, but we are planning on doing it again some time this week.

Nils also has a job, he works for a company which makes internet sites safe. The company makes sure that people can't swear or say bad things on the sites, that those kind of words, terms and sentences can not be posted on the sites, Dutch words, terms and sentences as well.
Nils's job is to make lists of words, terms and sentences in Dutch and translate them into English in the categories of for example: Flirting, Suicide, Profanity and Grooming. He has to make these lists in excel and then submit them to the company so the sites can be made even safer.
Nils gave me some categories I could make lists of or translate the terms during the day, so Nils only has to check them and maybe alter them a bit and then submit it to the company. It can be pretty hard sometimes to think of all the different situations and the things people could say in all those different situations. You really have to imagine you are such a person and then think of what you might say, but it can also be a pretty nice job sometimes.

Friday the second of May, Nils, me and one of the roommates called Chris went to a rugby match of the Leeds Rhinos versus the Wigan Warriors. The stadium is walking distance from the Leeds Metropolitan University campus. The match started at 8 PM and the Leeds Rhinos won! I really enjoyed myself during the rugby match and it was absolutely amazing. It's too bad rugby is not that big of a thing in the Netherlands because it's fantastic!

Saturday the third of May, Nils, me and Chris went to another sporting match, but this time a football match. It was Leeds united against Derby County. This match started at 12.15 PM and it ended in a draw, 1-1. This was a lot of fun as well and we had such nice weather, the sun was shining bright all match long.

The rest of the time I am having a really nice time with Nils and all the roommates, who are all really nice!

  • 05 Mei 2014 - 17:46

    Mum:

    Hi Han, it's good to hear that you're having such a good time!!
    And off course it's nice to know we don't have to worry about you feeling homesick

  • 05 Mei 2014 - 17:58

    Mum:

    That offcourse was a joke :) , i don't know where the rest of my message went. Enjoy the rest of your days overthere, greetz, mum

  • 05 Mei 2014 - 21:53

    Hanneke Moors:

    Nils's project sounds really interesting. It might be a good idea to keep his project in mind for your extended essay next year. Good to hear that you also have time to relax and enjoy yourself.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

han

My internship in Leeds

Actief sinds 14 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 190
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2155

Voorgaande reizen:

28 April 2014 - 10 Mei 2014

my internship in Leeds

Landen bezocht: